Spring Awards Winners 2018
Picture Identification: L-R

Front Row: Edwin Gore, All Conference; Keaton Hale, All Conference; John Deason, All Conference

Back Row: Nelson Lomick, Track MVP, All Conference, & Southwestern 2A Conference Track Athlete of the Year; Zane Andrews, Most Improved and All Conference; Addison Lomick, All Conference; Justin Tolbert, All Conference

Not Pictured: Larry Dowdy, Field MVP; Drake Ballard, All Conference; Tre Glenn, All Conference; Ray Grier, All Conference; Chancelor Mayfield, All Conference; Coach Bill Hannon, Southwestern 2A Conference Men's Track Coach of the Year

Spring Awards Winners 2018
Picture Identification: L-R

Front row: Addison Carson, All Conference; Madison Lund, All Conference; Ariana Perry, All Conference

Back row: Dy'Air McCormick, Track MVP and All Conference; Madison Willis, All Conference; Jada Alston, Field MVP and All Conference; Kaylee Thagard, Most Improved and All Conference

Not Pictured: Susie Butler, All Conference; Chloe Johnson, All Conference; Mary Smallwood, All Conference

South Point High School Boys Track & Field Team Info
South Point High School Girls Track & Field Team Info

Boys track team 1st, girls in close second at conference meet

BELMONT - It was the South Point boys’ and the R-S Central girls’ who shined at the 2018 Southwestern 2A Athletic Conference Track and Field championship held at South Point High Wednesday afternoon.

South Point, which has a boys’ roster comprised mainly of underclassmen, tallied 158 total points to finish ahead of second place Shelby, which had 144 points on the afternoon. R-S Central (109.50 points) placed third in the boys’ competition while East Gaston (92.50 points) was fourth.

South Point’s Ray Grier (11.26) was the conference champion in the Boys’ 100 Meter Dash while teammate Nelson Lomick (22.99) edged out Jaylen Creamer (23.04) of East Gaston to win the Boy’s 200 Meter Dash.

The Red Raiders Drake Ballard (11:22.82) was the winner of the Boys’ 3200 Meter Run.

In the boys’ field events, South Point’s Zane Andrews was the conference champion in the pole vault with a leap of 13-03.00.

The Boys’ Shot-Put championship went to South Point’s Larry Dowdy (40-03.00), who finished ahead of Dax Hollifield (38-02.00) of Shelby. Dowdy (122-02) was also first in the Boys’ Discuss Throw.

“We set our goals, myself and the four other coaches at the beginning of the season, to try and win a boy’s and girls’ conference championship” said South Point head coach Bill Hannon. “We finished one point short with the girls’, but these coaches and myself coach all the kids, boys’ and girls’. We’re proud of these kids. The boys’ team especially, as they are comprised mainly of sophomores and juniors.”

South Point (3:48.74) finished second in the 4 X 400.

South Point’s John Deason (53.92) finished second in the 400 meter dash.

South Point’s Bill Hannon was the Boys’ Conference Coach of the Year.

On the girl’s side, South Point just missed capturing a conference title as the Red Raiders finished in second place behind R-S Central 150-149. Shelby placed third in the girls’ competition with 98 points.

In the girls’ 4 X 400 Meter Relay, South Point’s Chloe Johnson, Ariana Perry, Samantha Valour and Madison Willis led the Red Raiders to a first-place finish in 4:45.76. The host Red Raiders also captured the Girls’ 4 X 800 Meter Relay with a time of 11:56.53

The Girls’ 200 Meter Dash went to Dy’air McCormick of South Point with a time of 27.65. McCormick (12.83) also won the Girls’ 100 Meter Dash.

South Point’s Kaylee Thagard (14:15.53) finished second in the 3200 meter run.

South Point’s Jada Alston (14-03.50) placed third in the long jump. Alston (80-8) also, finished second in the Girls’ Discuss.

South Point teammates Susie Butler (6-06.00) and Christina Jones (6-00.00) finished second and third respectfully in girl’s pole vault.

“It’s heartbreaking to lose by one point,” said South Point girls’ coach Joshua Justice. “I’m very proud of all our girls and how they competed. We scored a lot of points in every aspect of the meet today. We had some girls over-perform and exceed expectations to get us in the running (for a championship) but hats off to R-S Central.”


Track team hosts meet at South Point — The South Point track and field team hosted several schools in an early meet at South Point

Click here for pictures of the meet.

McCormick signs with UNC-Pembroke
South Point senior Dy’Air McCormick, front row, has signed a national letter of intent to run track at UNC Pembroke. Front row from the left are her mom, Erica Self; Dy’Air; and her stepfather, Kevin Washington. Back row from the left are South Point athletic director, Kent Hyde; South Point head men’s track coach, Bill Hannon; South Point assistant ladies track coach, Jannie Arthur; South Point head ladies track coach, Josh Justice; former South Point head ladies track coach, Adam Hodge; and South Point principal, Gary Ford.



Coaching Staff


Glenn Sparrow - 3A State Champion – 1600 M Run – 1978, 1979

Phillip Childers - 3A State Champion - Pole Vault – Outdoor – 2001, 2002, 2003

Phillip Childers - 3A State Champion - Pole Vault – Indoor – 2003

Justus Watkins - 3A State Champion - Long Jump - 2011

Gaston County Champions - Men
Regular Season Conference Titles - Men

Southwestern 2A Conference

Regional Runner-up - Men

Regular Season Conference Titles - Women

Southwestern 3A Conference

Big South 3A Conference
Runner-up 2013

Regional Runner-Up - Women
1998, 2013

M Track and Field

W Track and Field